Inaugural November Goal Meet-up

First time to the meetup – hey everyone and thanks for visiting!

November Goals

  1. Train four times a week (like I paid for!)
  2. Volunteer once this month (start off slow)
  3. Apply for one scholarship a day
  4. Keep up with my google reader (don’t let them pile up)
  5. Blog twice a week
  6. Send in one piece a week (I don’t care where, just submit!)

 

Since this is my first meet up, I don’t have October goals to look back on, but here’s a few off the top of my head:

  1. Find martial arts gym and go to it yay Boxx Warriors Muay Thai!
  2. Get up on time (failed… miserably)
  3. Get info for volunteering
  4. Work with publications at the high school
  5. Finish Catch 22

 

Wow – I haven’t sat down to simply write up what I plan to do in a month in a very long time! I used to do it more often – sometimes daily, actually! Be it self improvement, personal goals or career milestones, I’ve always liked to keep track of where I want to go, how I got there and when I arrived. Yes, I was that yuppie student with checkboxes next to absolutely everything in her planner.

I’m sure I’m not the only one who loves checking things off lists, but I think I’ve overdone it at times. It’s those feelings of invincibility, of accomplishment – the almost tangible load lifting off my shoulders, removing itself from my mental tornado of ideas and reminders.

But I had to stop, for that part of my life, anyway.

I realized I was basing my self-worth too closely on whether those boxes got checked off or not. It was like I was only somebody if I got to the end of my (sometimes impossible) list – if I didn’t, I was scum.

I don’t think I’m alone in this. We’re pressured to produce something, to accomplish something – be it writing a paper or coming up with a bombshell marketing idea – in order to feel good about ourselves. And quite frankly, it’s hard for us to think in any other currency – what other yardstick do we have?

So why I participating in this month’s meet up? Self hatred? Addiction to negativity? Simple love of misery-wallowing?

I guess the only way I can put it is that I can’t beat myself up about not getting temporary goals done, simply because the primary reason I want to work on myself is so I can improve the world around me.

So what other yardstick do we have? The one examining how we helped each other, improved our environment, left the world better than how we found it.

For me, I better myself with the aim of bettering my chances of bettering my surroundings. (Chew on that for a minute!)

“What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others.”   -Pericles

9 responses to “Inaugural November Goal Meet-up

  1. Yup, I get the feeling about being scum if the to-do list didn’t have a few check boxes marked on it. I feel being productive is, this is gonna read a little off, “the way.” Like you said, what other way do people have to feel good about themselves but by being productive in some form.

    I keep getting lost in your final three paragraphs. Would you mind clarifying? Are you saying don’t improve for yourself but to be capable of improving the world?

    Overall, I would love to be able to get myself to set goals of things that I don’t have to work so hard to get myself to accomplish. In the meantime, I am of the current opinion that accountability by way of others, albeit strangers, is the way to go.

    As for bettering the world, I have always been one to think that before you can help others you have to help yourself first. Which perhaps is along the lines of what you were getting at.

  2. One way to get up on time is to set an even earlier time, and laze around till I wake up on time. That’s how I did it initially. 🙂

  3. Thanks for the comments!

    Ashley: Yeah, I see now that my last few lines were a bit muddled – that’s the last time I’ll try to bake, listen to a podcast and blog at the same time!

    All I meant was that we can’t add to our intrinsic value as human beings by checking things off a list – we can only look at the impact we had on the life and the people we do life with.

    Or maybe I’m simply the only one who feels guilty about working to improve myself for selfish purposes? 😉

  4. Ah, the fun of multitasking. 🙂

    I believe this means you’re a good person. That guilt drives you to your ultimate goal of helping those around you.

    It’s not something I would’ve specifically thought about as I put together lists and do or don’t get things checked out. However, does make me think that those community service type activities I’ve had in the back of my head for a while should make their way onto a list.

  5. Hey there! Good luck this month!

    I think you’re onto something with recognizing that you were basing your self worth on goal achievement. I think that’s something a lot of us encounter as we get older. This modite meet up is really helpful with keeping us accountable because we know other people are watching. Sometimes, I find, that’s a bigger motivator than being held accountable to ourselves.

    I’m rootin’ for you! 🙂

  6. Get up on time is a beautiful goal! I should have included that on my list. Next month I will be listing “Get out of bed 15 minutes eariler than usual” and then January will be 30 minutes and so on until I’ve gained enough to work out prior to heading to the office.

    I have a time keeping up with Google reader too.

    Don’t feel guilty about improving yourself! You can’t help others be happy if you are happy yourself. That said, I understand the guilt. I have kids and I feel incredibly guilty sometimes when I hit the gym after work instead of going straight home to them. I have to remind myself that one of the best gifts I can give them is to be healthy and take care of myself.

    • It’s so true! Plus the fact that happiness is infectious – sometimes the best way to make others happy is by being happy yourself!

  7. Welcome!! And stick with the training, even after sessions are over. That was my biggest hurdle. I was paying for a membership and then never hitting the gym. And then as budgets got tighter, I decided if I wasn’t going to use it, I needed to cut the membership. So (with some help from my friends), I gave it another go of getting committed. And now I’m happily going three-four times a week. Now I feel like I’m getting a bargain!

    • Sticking with training is so hard – my problem isn’t the motivation to be fit, it’s deciding whether I’m up to catching a taxi all the way over there, dealing with the leering thai trainers and catching a taxi home when I’m soaked in sweat. Ah, the joys of living in Asia!

Leave a Reply

