Minimalist Pursuit

Perhaps I’ve been largely offline for too many years, but this minimalism movement caught me off guard the first few times I was looking for interesting bloggers.

Wasn’t minimalism simply a style of art, a way to excuse my apartment’s lack of furniture, an Ikea room model pact?

The more I looked into it, the more I read on it (there is no lack of minimalist literature out there, ironically!) the I realized that it wasn’t only about physical things, wasn’t limited to your physical possessions, your lifestyle or even your furniture arrangement.

Minimalism is a mindset, and I only truly realized this just the other day.

I’m reading a wonderful book by Mars Hill pastor Rob Bell, entitled Velvet Elvis. I’ve gotten a ton out of it (I’m an obsessive notetaker) but this insight was truly life-changing:

“Your job is the relentless pursuit of who God has made you to be.”

To me, there is nothing more minimalistic than this.

Whether you believe in God or not (call it destiny, realism, the real person you were born as) just think about it: Is there anything as simple, as incredibly minimalistic and so absolutely crucial to our existence?

Maybe I’m looking too much into this, but just imagine if you only had one goal in life, one sole passion that led to infinite destinations, manifested in countless other passions that you didn’t have to search for but were carefully fitted perfectly to you by the one who made you?

I’d like to say that this works in conjunction with (rather than against) the what Jeffrey Tang calls ‘self-reliance minimalism’. While his is a more secular view, I couldn’t agree more with his philosophy: I am not only sufficient as a person, but there’s no one in the world (myself included!) I have to prove it to.

It’s the out existence distilled into the smallest possible form, the critical mass for a theory of the purpose of life.

Anything less and it wouldn’t encompass the magnitude of the charge. Anything more would distract from the essentials.

What would life look like if your only goal was to live as you – you as an individual, as a single human being, with absolutely unique passions and gifts and choices – were meant to?

Leave a Reply

